Take time for tea

Lifestyle

Welcome back! I hope you all enjoyed the first Girl Power Boss Post. If you haven’t checked it out yet then please see the link below: https://girlpowerdesign.wordpress.com/2018/05/17/girl-power-boss-chrissie-mclean/

Today I want to talk about the importance of taking time for ourselves! How many times do we take that time? You see no matter who we are, we all need some time to relax, pause and regroup.

We need to think about what works for us as individuals and think about what we need to chill and unwind. We need to try and forget about all of the stresses of modern day life and do what we can to realign ourselves back to who we are meant to be.

How can we be who we are meant to be if we don’t check in with ourselves from time to time. Am I okay? Am I happy? Do I like doing this or that? Do I need more or less of that? Where do I want to end up? What do I want to achieve?

If we don’t take that time then we will burnout and then we will be no good for anyone else or ourselves. We cannot be go, go, go all of the time! As the title of this post suggests we need to take the time for tea. After all if we don’t look after ourselves then who will?

We need to teach this to children as well. It is not just adults that need to do things they enjoy to look after themselves. Children get fed up just like us if they’re tired, overwhelmed and confused. I think as adults we forget how much children have to learn and how daunting even the simpler of things can look for them. Children are growing up even quicker nowadays and so they need to be equipped to dealing with the pace of adult life.

I truly believe that it is important for children to learn how to look after themselves so that they can learn from an early age how to help themselves and how to be more mindful in every day life. We need to be positive with them and encourage them to go down the right path and embrace life. I think that the world would be a far better place if children were taught how to deal with their emotions: anger, frustration, anxiety and fear etc. Instead of letting them build up, eat away at them and for them to then perhaps turn that anger or frustration onto someone or something else.

Tips on how to be more mindful:

1) We need to just let our emotions be. The more we hold onto them the stronger that emotion will feel. We need to let any negative emotions pass over us and try to redirect our attention onto something positive! Easier said than done I know but with practice we can and we will do it!

2) List of things we could try to refocus our attention on:

  • Meditation;
  • Colouring:
  • Speaking to a friend;
  • Helping someone;
  • Going for a walk;
  • Cooking or baking;
  • Listening to music, singing or dancing;
  • Writing your thoughts into a journal;
  • Reading a book;
  • Mindful breathing;
  • Holding a special object in your hand and focusing on it;
  • Exercise class;
  • Affirmations;
  • Doing a craft project;
  • Drawing;
  • Painting your nails;
  • Visualising a positive outcome;
  • Listening to an inspiring podcast;
  • Reading your favourite blogs; or
  • Anything else you like to do that makes you feel good and distracts you.

I really hope that this post was useful. Please contact me if you thought it was, I would love to hear from you. Please also let me know if you try one or more of these things next time you’re feeling a bit frustrated, worried, fed up, annoyed, disappointed, agitated or nervous and how you get on. You should see a difference in how you feel quite quickly and the time after that should be even quicker.

If after all this thinking you discover that you’re not happy with what you are doing or you are. Then try to visualise what you want and what you could change. Remembering that you can only control you. You can’t control other people. Meditation and journaling are great for this. You could write down what you want to achieve and how you want your life to look. You need to make sure that in order to do this properly that you are really specific with what you want and that you get yourself into a high vibration beforehand. Think positive, use a nice journal, sit somewhere nice and comfy, perhaps listen to relaxing music. Take inspiration from a motivating podcast, book, blog, affirmation etc. I wish you the best of look with your journey and I will leave you with this wonderful quote I heard recently: “yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present”.

Please let me know your thoughts or questions on this topic and let me know if you try any of the activities listed above. I hope you all have a great week! Stay tuned for Thursday’s post which will be our second Girl Power Bosses’s post. Please also follow us on Twitter: https://mobile.twitter.com/gpdesignblog and on Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/GirlPowerDesign/?ref=bookmarks

15 thoughts on “Take time for tea

  1. I enjoyed reading your list of ways to be more mindful and focused on the moment.. I also really like your title for this blog post. Very thoughtful which is fitting for the theme of taking time and enjoying the moment.

    Like

  2. Taking out for some time for oneself daily goes a long way in maintaining one’s sanity. I make a point to dedicate at least five minutes for myself on a daily basis. Awesome ideas. Will definitely take a cue from it the next time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are some really great tips in here! It’s so important for all of us to take time for ourselves and yet it seems to be something very easily pushed aside too! I know I spent years focusing on my family more than myself and suffered because of it! I am a much better person, mother, and wife now that I am taking time to make me happy too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great list and great post! Self care is so important and you’re so right- taking even 5-10 min for yourself will help you stay focused and not feel so rundown! I also know for me that saying no is key! I used to fill up my agenda to the brink, and still do sometimes, but I have gotten much better at saying no! Thanks for the awesome advise!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks. Yes it’s really tough to say no sometimes but we can’t do everything. I try to put things in my calendar on my phone and then I will look at it each week to make sure I have some time for myself,

      Like

Leave a comment